Idiom of the Week

surf the web / surf the net

Meaning:  to look at Web sites on a computer; to browse around in the contents of the Internet

For example:

  • I spend about one hour everyday surfing the net.
  • All she wants to do is surf the web, she never comes out with us.
  • Joe: How did you find out about University Settlement’s Adult Literacy Program?

          Student: I was just surfing the net for information about ESL classes.

  • He had some questions about the country he was going to visit, so he surfed the web for answers.
Pop Quiz:You are surfing the net when you
  1. Send someone an email
  2. Play games with your friends
  3. Read the day’s news headlines

For the answer, continue reading

Answer 3, Reading news headlines. You are skimming and scanning information to see what you find interesting or valuable.

Now, try to find a way to use this idiom in your conversation today!

Tagged ,

10 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week

  1. I was surfing the net for todays weather.

  2. Mike lee says:

    I study in W2 class in David’s class. Today I have surfed this website. It is rather good and useful for our english sutdy. It will be bettter if we can find some local news and some good and famous Amercian website links.

  3. Rebecca Liu says:

    I think idioms are very important. They help you to understand other peoples in conversations.

  4. Li, Wan Bing says:

    I like to surf the web for each day’s daily news.

  5. mei juan tang says:

    At this website can let me review my English listening.

  6. Xiao Ling Xie says:

    I was surfing the net for the news.

  7. Qi Ci Mei says:

    I was surfing the net to look for news

  8. huifang says:

    I surf the net everyday.

  9. pan ying says:

    Does everyone like to surf the web?

Leave a Reply

