Idiom of the Week

beauty is in the eye of the beholder

Meaning:  Different people have different ideas about what is beautiful.

For example:

  • I don’t know why she bought that painting. It is poorly done and hurts my head when I look at it. I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
  • He must believe beauty is in the eye of the beholder; his wife is bald and only has 3 teeth!
  • Jill:  Have you seen Lee’s pictures of her new baby? He looks ugly, to my eyes.                Jane: Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Pop Quiz:

Why is beauty in the eye of the beholder?

A.  Because the most beautiful people are in movies and television

B.  Because there is no single idea or definition of beauty

C.  Because sometimes people can become beautiful if they put on glasses

To see the answer,

Answer: B, because there is no single idea or definition of beauty. Everybody has different taste, everybody sees things differently… beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

Now leave a comment using your new idiom!

Tagged

9 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week

  1. Lilyan Mei says:

    I wouldn’t say he was fat, but the other day on the bus he got up and offered his seat to three women. He is not handsome at all in my eye, but I don’t know why his pretty wife loves him so much. I think beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

  2. Rose says:

    To me, beauty in a person is someone who is confident.

  3. dong yi chen says:

    I like this videos and program so mach ,because they teach me english idioms.I can find good job.

  4. mya says:

    beauty is in the eye of the beholder that is right,if beautiy is in the eye of the majority… we all are fighting each other.

  5. LiMei tang says:

    Different people possess different standards of beauty and that not everyone agrees on who is beautiful and who is not ..

  6. sze wong says:

    Sze wong says:My teacher’s gum always flapping and laughing.I think she is the prettier in this school.I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

  7. chifai says:

    The art that who design was very interesting .

Leave a Reply

