Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

From Simple English Wikipedia:

Saint Patrick’s Day is the feast day of Saint Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland and a day of celebration for Irish people and all things that are Irish. It is celebrated on March 17 all over Ireland and everywhere in the world where Irish people or their descendants live. New York City has one of the biggest parades. It is a very Irish festival and it involves a lot of feasting and celebrations, which include traditional Irish music, drinking Guinness and eating bacon and cabbage. Green is the color for Saint Patrick’s Day, as it is the national color of Ireland. Many people wear green on that day or have some type of shamrock on their clothing.

For information about the parade in New York City, click here.

Here’s a traditional Irish song for you. It’s sung by Liam Clancy, and it’s called “The Parting Glass.” Watch below:

To read the lyrics (the words to the song) and listen at the same time, click on “Continue Reading” below:

“The Parting Glass”                                        parting=saying goodbye

Oh, all the money that e’er I spent,                e’er=ever
I spent it in good company.
And all the harm that e’er I’ve done,             harm=injuries, hurt
Alas, it was to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit                  want of wit=being stupid, not thinking
To memory now I can’t recall.                        recall=remember
So fill to me the parting glass,
Good night and joy be with you all.               joy=happiness

Oh, all the comrades that e’er I had,              comrades=friends
They are sorry for my going away.
And all the sweethearts that e’er I had,
They would wish me one more day to stay.
But since it falls unto my lot                           falls unto my lot=it’s my luck
That I should rise and you should not,
I will gently rise and then softly call,
Good night and joy be with you all.

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

  1. ANGELA LIU says:

    nice song !! it make me calm.

  2. Lilyan Mei says:

    Thank you for telling us the information for Saint Patrick’s day. And thank you for the song with lyrics. It was pleasant to listen to it.

  3. David says:

    I wish bars and lounges would play this kind of calm music on St. Patricks day.

  4. puiwong says:

    I love hear this song

  5. stephanieHo says:

    I like the song becuse make happy

  6. qiu says:

    I like this song

  7. yueyingwu says:

    Today,St.patrick’sDay is probably the most widely celebrated saint’day in the world.nice song made an official feast day in the early se venteeth century, and has gradully become a celebration of Irish culture in general.

  8. Hui Zhou says:

    i like this music. it makes me happy and i’m enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

