Idiom of the Week

Spring Fever


Meaning:  having a lot of or little energy because of the change from winter to spring weather; an either lazy or energetic feeling.

If you have spring fever, it means that because of a nice, warm, and sunny spring day you don’t feel like working or studying. You find it hard to concentrate on anything

 For example:          
  • I’ve got spring fever! Sometimes I want to clean my house and move furniture around, but I also want to lie down and take a nap.
  • I can’t sit at home and study. I don’t even want to play computer games. I’ve got spring fever, let’s go outside!
  • “It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!” — Mark Twain, American author
Pop Quiz:You probably have spring fever if you
  1. can’t study well or focus on work.
  2. you spend all day watching TV.
  3. are preparing for Halloween.

Click below to read the answer

1 is the best answer, you can’t study well or focus on work. When you have spring fever it is difficult to stay still or focused.

Now, try to find a way to use this idiom in your conversation today!

7 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week

  1. Se Bai Ling says:

    I’ve got spring fever! Sometimes I want to sleep in the afternoon, I feel little tire, I can’t reading books for two hours and focus on work. Let’s go outside doing some exercise, I thing it would be better.

  2. Mansha says:

    I’ve got spring fever,too. I want to sleep all day and do nothing.

  3. Emma says:

    I don’t have spring fever ,beacuse I’m very busy. If you always have something to do, maybe you too.

  4. mya says:

    I’ve got spring fever,i want to watch US Adult Literacy websit

  5. Sze Wong says:

    I agree what Emma says,when I was worked in my job before. I never had spring fever, Since 2007 I did”nt work any more, I had spring fever in this few years.

  6. Lisa says:

    I have spring fever, I want to ride my bike in the morning when it is warm.

Leave a Reply

