Idiom of the week

Butterflies in My Stomach
Meaning:  a feeling in your stomach when you are excited or nervous or in love; a fluttering or tickling in your stomach.


For example:

 
  • Whenever I have to speak in public, I get butterflies in my stomach.
  • She is the most beautiful woman I have ever seen. Every time I look at her I get butterflies in my stomach.
  • When we went down the big hill on the rollercoaster ride, it felt like I had butterflies in my stomach.

Pop Quiz:  When do you think you would have butterflies in your stomach?

  1.  After you eat too much pizza
  2. Before you give a presentation
  3. After you take a test

Read the answer below

2, before you give a presentation. Many people have a strange feeling before they speak in public, like butterflies in their stomach.

Tagged ,

15 thoughts on “Idiom of the week

  1. Lilyan Mei says:

    Great idiom, I like it.
    I always get butterflies in my stomach when I have a job interview.

  2. Sze Wong says:

    when i was young, A lot of worms always crawled on the vegetable leaves. I got butterflies in my stomch.

  3. Se Bai Ling says:

    Some time I got butterflies in my stomach when I talked with facebook friends, They sent me a lot of beautiful pictures.

  4. Angela Liu says:

    Before I give a presentation, I always feel like butterflies in my stomach. But I are lucky because we have place to stay and learn english expeciously we have good teachers. They give us chance to do presentation in public. They give us many exercise to practice. So now I feel better and better, less nervous speak in public.
    Thanks my teacher –Peggy.also thanks my classmates….love you!!!!!!

  5. joeS says:

    Great replies everyone! Has anyone ever swallowed a butterfly?

  6. Sze Wong says:

    We swallowed a lot of butterflies in spring and summer ,they are so beautiful . Because .we are birds, frogs, dragonflies, lizards monkeys rats snakes and toads. Human being never like to swallowed a butterfly. JoeS : Did you ever swollowed a real butterfly?

  7. chifai says:

    I didn’t know what did it mean?

  8. Maria Pachacanac says:

    I got butterflies,crickets,and frogs last week; because I went to orientation for high school at Trinity

  9. Lisa says:

    The first time I rode a roller coaster, I got butterflies in my stomach.

Leave a Reply

