My First Day in New York

Today is the last day of New York City’s official Immigrant Heritage Week. What’s an immigrant? If you moved from one country to a new country, then you’re an immigrant. One University Settlement student wrote about her experience as an immigrant – specifically, her first day in New York City. Here it is:

My First Day in New York

by Manqun Yin, a.k.a. Emma, Class 2A

On January 27th, 2010, I left my family and friends and moved to the U.S.

I felt sad and happy, because I could live with my husband, but I had to leave my family and my friends. I left my job, too. I didn’t know any English. I was afraid.

I didn’t know what kind of life awaited me. I arrived at JFK airport. It was 10 pm. I walked out of the airport. My husband was late.

The weather was cold and snowy. It was the first time I had seen snow. I felt cold and clean. I hoped I would have a good life.

What about you? Can you remember your first day in New York? Please share with us!

Also, for a wonderful website that has great stories by immigrants in Upstate New York (including audio and quizzes), click here.

Tagged , ,

12 thoughts on “My First Day in New York

  1. Kuan ling Tam says:

    I feel every thing is old in New York.

  2. kevin says:

    you were a lucky person,because you had a good husband took care for anything.

  3. chifai says:

    Your kind is very goor-looking

  4. Lisa says:

    It was snowing the day I arrived in NY too. I was also scared but happy to be here to see my family.

  5. Se Bai Ling says:

    Ms. Cindy Chen came from China to New York City in May/2008. As a new immigrant, she was think about too much. At the first day, she with her parent to visit Manhattan, she saw a lot of high building in every where, especially in midtown and uptown, the avenue are so width and so straight, from the morning to the evening, a lot of vehicle are running on all of the Avenue and Streets, it look like the water running on the river never stoped. The weather was so good, blue sky with write cloud, the air are very fresh! it is a beautiful day. Ms. Cindy with her parent very happy. She thought that she must learned more English and try her best did a good job in the future.

    • Se Bai Ling says:

      I need correct some sentences as follows:
      “she was think about too much” change to: “she was thought about too much”
      “Ms. Cindy with her parent very happy” change to: ” Ms. cindy with her parent were very happy”
      “it look like the water running on the river” change to: ‘it looked like the water running on the river”
      “.and try her best did a good job in the future.” change to “and tried her best did a good job in the future.”

      • Angela Liu says:

        Ling, if you want someone to focus on you, I want to say you did very good job…….clapping !!!!!

  6. Emma says:

    Yes,I’m lucky. first, I have a good husband. then I choise a good school and meet two good teachers, Alison and John. thanks a lot!

  7. Se Bai Ling says:

    Thank you! Angela. Could you give your e-mail address for me, we will be talk on facebook.

  8. chifai says:

    My feeling when I came to the United States!
    In 1978, my family and I took an airplane from Hong Kong to the United States , when we were approaching Kennedy airport. I looked at downwards , I felt New York was more backward than Hong Kong. Why ? Because I saw the houses were all made of wood , looked like places where poor people live . The next weekend My nephew drove us to Manhattan uptown and downtown .Uptown there was the Empire State Building and revolving restaurant . Downtown there was the World Trade Center . The sky scraper had more than 100 floors .So I.
    Oh ! It’s was very magnificent. But the streets (are) were dirty, drivers didn’t follow traffic rules. At the that time I felt it was very dangerous .
    Some people (are) were very rude and prejudice. That was my feeling when I came Unite States !

Leave a Reply

