Idiom of the Week

Break A Leg

Meaning:  good luck in acting and performing.  Actors think it’s bad luck to say “good luck” to a performer, so instead they say, ‘break a leg.’

For example:

  • Before I went on stage, my friend told me to break a leg
  • Break a leg at your show tonight!
  • “What are you doing tonight?”

            “I am performing in a play.”

            “Wow, that sounds great. Break a leg!”

Pop Quiz:  When would you tell someone to break a leg?
  1. After they finish a performance
  2. Before they begin a performance
  3. Before they play a football game
Read the answer below

2, before someone performs, if you want to wish them good luck, you should tell them to break a leg

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week

  1. Se Bai Ling says:

    I stood on the Class room began to do the presentation, my classmate told me to break a leg.

  2. Sze Wong says:

    I recall three years ago,the end of school.Every classes had the plays ,our class were sang a song.” A sunny day”.Before the show, our teacher Ryan, he told us to break a leg.

Leave a Reply

