Idiom of the Week

Cup of Tea

Meaning: not your preference; something you do not enjoy

Examples:

  • Action movies aren’t really my cup of tea. I prefer dramas and comedies, to be honest.
  • Let’s not get Chinese food for dinner. It’s not my cup of tea.
  • Rock music really isn’t my cup of tea; it’s too loud. I prefer classical music, like Bach or Mozart.

Quiz: If you are a vegetarian, what would not be your cup of tea?

A) A salad

B) Spaghetti and meatballs

C) A cup of tea

Click for the answer below…

B, Spaghetti and meatballs. Vegetarians do not eat meat, so they would not enjoy a food with meatballs in it.

Tagged

8 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week

  1. Lilyan Mei says:

    Uncooked food is not my cup of tea, no matter how delicious it is.

  2. Se Bai Ling says:

    Small size of hot coffee is not my cup of tea, I prefer to drink large size of ice coffee in the summer.

  3. Mansha says:

    Learning more English is my cup of tea. (I’m telling the truth, I’m not brown-nosing.)

  4. Lisa says:

    Cold drinks are not my cup of tea. I prefer my drinks to be hot.

  5. mya says:

    Rock music is my cup of tea.It’s strong and active.

  6. Lucian says:

    Sweets are just not my cup of tea. I prefer savory food 99.99% of the time!

  7. Sze Wong says:

    Pickle is not my cup of tea.It’s too sour and salty.

Leave a Reply

