Idiom of the week

Bite your tongue

Meaning:  to stop yourself from saying something you should not

*we also say hold your tongue

Examples:

  •  I was going to say something bad to my parents, but I was smart and bit my tongue instead.
  • Did you see how ugly Juliet’s new dress is? I almost told her, but I bit my tongue.
  • “The teacher didn’t give us any homework for the weekend, should we say something?”

“No! Bite your tongue! I want to relax this weekend.”

Quiz: When do you think you would bite your tongue?

1. When talking with your boss

2. When ordering fast food

3. When talking with your best friend

1, when talking to your boss, you might not say something you want to say. When talking with your best friend or ordering fast food you should be comfortable saying almost anything.

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Idiom of the week

  1. Angela Liu says:

    When I don’t know how to answer the question, I always bit my tongue.

  2. Sze Wong says:

    Some time my teacher was miss spell the word.I told him. From now on , I will bite my tongue. Can anyone give me a opinion? In this case,Should I bite my tongue or not. Thank You!

    • Angela Liu says:

      That is not big deal. Everyone will make mistakes. So point out … Studying together…that’s noting wrong!

  3. Ally says:

    My problem is, I can’t bite my tongue when I know something true, I prefer to spit it out.

  4. Sze Wong says:

    Angela Liu and Ally: you both are definite right. I love to hear that. Thanks a lot.

  5. Lisa says:

    Sometimes I bite my tongue depending on the time, location and the person I am with.

  6. sebai901@yahoo.com says:

    My partner Lisa Chen sometime did the wrong drawings. The manager complained of her bad jobs, I always bit my tongue, didn’t said anything. After that, I told her what was wrong that she did.

Leave a Reply

