Idiom of the week

Face the music

Meaning:  to meet, or stand up to unpleasant consequences, for example criticism or punishment

Examples:

  • I stayed out all night. When I got home, I had to face the music from my wife.
  • I missed a lot of classes this year. Now I have to face the music and find a new school to study at.
  • Today I have a test that I didn’t study for. Oh well, I guess I’ll have to face the music and hope for the best.

Pop Quiz: When will you face the music?

  1. When you break the law
  2. When you break your arm
  3. When you break an egg

1, when you break the law, you will have to face the music and probably be punished. If you break your arm or an egg, you probably will not be in trouble for it and will not have to face the music.

3 thoughts on “Idiom of the week

  1. Angela Liu says:

    Three months ago, I sold a bottle of alcohol to the minor. I had to face the music this morning. I’m so appreciate that the judge gave me a chance and I didn’t get the fine….from now on, I will be very very carefully…..

  2. candywu says:

    Do you have big family or a small family?

  3. sebai901@yahoo.com says:

    Yesterday, I joined my friend’s birthday party, at that party I drank a lot of beer, sang too much popular song and ate too much food until to midnight than went home. I had to face the music from my wife.

Leave a Reply

