Idiom of the Week

go out with a bang

Meaning:  to succeed spectacularly; to end something in a great way

Examples:

  • I handed in all of my papers and I got an A+ on my final test. This school year I definitely went out with a bang.
  • The movie went out with a bang! The special effects at the end were amazing!
  • Tonight is New Year’s Eve. I’m going to sing and dance and go out with a bang!

Pop Quiz: You will go out with a bang if you…

  1. Sleep in on your last day of school and miss graduation.
  2. Write a paper, but get lazy at the end and don’t finish.
  3. Play hard the whole game and score the winning point.

For the answer…

The correct answer is 3 – play hard the whole game and score the winning point. That’s going out with a bang!

Now try to use this new idiom in your conversation or leave a reply below and write a sentence using it!

Tagged

5 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week

  1. Angela Liu says:

    It is going out with a bang if you study at University Settlement’s Adult Literacy Program..

    • Hi Angela,
      Remember that “going out with a bang” means ending something in an impressive or excellent way. So it might be better to say that this school year at University Settlement went out with a bang because we had a big, fun party yesterday.

  2. Angela Liu says:

    I’m going to take YOGA class and I hope to go out with a bang!

  3. sebai901@yahoo.com says:

    This school year is from 10/10 2011 to 06/20 2012. During these 10 months long period studying, I could not only understood fundamental of rules of English Grammar, and could learn more English vocabularies. I had have a hard time and had got excellent scores in the end of examination. I’m very happy in Settlement University. This school year I definitely went out with a bang! I’m hopefully that I can go to this University to learn Writing English
    class in the next semester.

Leave a Reply

