Health Stories

This spring, Classes 2A and 2B wrote stories about health problems – specifically, accidents and illnesses. The stories are short, filled with useful vocabulary, and most of them are in simple past tense. To download the whole book, click here (but be careful – it’s a big file and it might take a long time!).

Here’s one sample from the book – after you read it, look at the true/false exercise and conversation questions about the story:

Ivy Lu My Memory

I was sick one month ago. I felt uncomfortable. I couldn’t go to school for two days. I felt cold and nauseous. My husband bought some cold medicine for me, but it didn’t work. I still felt uncomfortable. I was sad.

I remember in China, I was sick too. One night I couldn’t sleep. I felt nauseous and uncomfortable in my chest. I told my grandpa I was sick. My grandpa put a tea bag in hot water, and I drank the tea. After about twenty minutes, I felt better. “What is this?”  I asked. My grandpa said, “It is Lin Yung tea. It is good for your health. I always drink it if I have a stomachache, cold, or diarrhea.” “I like it!” I exclaimed.

I cried. My husband asked, “What’s the matter?” I said, “I miss the tea and I miss my grandpa very much!”

TRUE OR FALSE?

Choose T for True or F for False.

  1. Ivy was sick last month.      T     F
  2. Her grandpa gave her tea when she was sick in China.     T     F
  3. It was Lin Ying tea.     T     F
  4. Ivy cried when she thought about her grandmother.     T     F
  5. She misses the tea and her grandfather.     T     F

CONVERSATION QUESTIONS

  1. When was the last time you were sick?
  2. Do you usually take medicine when you get sick? If so, what kind?
  3. Who or what do you miss from your country?

To see the answers for the true/false questions, click “Continue Reading” below:

1. T

2. T

3. F

4. F

5. T

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Health Stories

  1. Lucian Leung says:

    I’ve never had Lin Yung Tea before! Can I find it in Chinatown?

  2. Emma says:

    I’m lucky, I seldom get sick, so I don’t like take the medicine. I miss the food!

  3. chifaileung says:

    You are very fortunate when you sick drank Lin young tessa after better.

  4. chifaileung says:

    You are very fortunate when you sick drank Lin young tea after better.

  5. Lisa says:

    I miss my mother’s remedy and miss my mother very much.

Leave a Reply

