Idiom of the Week: Count Your Blessings

Meaning: To be grateful for the good things instead of complaining.

Examples:

“Mom, I want a new iPhone!” “No way! There are children in the world who don’t have enough to eat – count your blessings!”

I’m just lucky to have a job – I’m counting my blessings.

I may not be rich, but I have good health. You’ve got to count your blessings.

Pop Quiz:

In which situation is it appropriate to tell someone to count their blessings?

A.  When someone says they’re tired.

B.  When someone says they just had a baby.

C.  When someone talks about all their problems.

To see the correct answer, click on “Continue reading”:

The correct answer is C. When you tell someone to count their blessings, you’re telling them to focus on the positive things rather than the negatives. You’re telling them to be optimistic instead of pessimistic. No go out there and start counting those blessings!

Tagged

8 thoughts on “Idiom of the Week: Count Your Blessings

  1. junefoley says:

    Thanks, Jon!

    There’s a Youtube version with Bing Crosby from a classic Christmas movie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXKxazgio2s (though of course we may want something more up-to-date. Has Jay-Z done it?)

    Best, June

  2. betty says:

    Before I complained my house too small, but now I know that I need to court my blessings. After learning this Idiom, I am feeling my little house is beautiful!

  3. Eva Ng says:

    I come from Hong Kong. I am concerning “occupy central”. I hope every person to concerning the event.

  4. Jose De la cruz says:

    That is the best way to think about life

  5. Kelly Chen says:

    I’ve complained why I became a new immigrant in the U.S.Even thought I saw a delicious dish at the other table I couldn’t tell the dish’s name the waiter. But now I recognize I really need to court my blessings,because so many educational organizations help me to build my new life here.I believe I’ll get use to the American’s culture.

  6. Carmen lee says:

    I’m counting my blessings,I’ve bought a house before the housing price upswing.

  7. Zoe says:

    sometimes we have to count our blessings~even thought the situation is rally tough.

Leave a Reply

